the other day, i went to see the new Harry Potter film (and got to see the entire movie – go Rio!). I was wearing my pretty new nursing top and my jungle print nursing bra and these fancy expensive wool nursing pads recommended by Finnish midwives, according to the label. in addition to being super-absorbent, they were supposed to keep my breast feeling dry and warm, thanks to the magic of wool.

They did their job admirably. So admirably that when we left the theater, I was astonished to see that my milk had soaked right through the pads, through the bra, and run in long dark streaks down my shirt. I’m a very difficult woman to embarass, but this did it. I think it was the surprise factor – normally if I’m walking around in public covered with body fluids, I know about it.

