1. Serena has reached the stage of life all babies seem to go through where nothing is more interesting or important than examining Mommy’s teeth. She spends a lot of time trying to stick her hands in my mouth. Tonight I cleverly gave her a little stuffed frog to hold while nursing. This worked surprisingly well. She played happily with the frog, squishing and pinching instead of poking at my mouth. I grinned down at her with pride. She gazed up with perfect love and stuck the frog in my mouth.

2. Driving across town with the girls today, we had a rare moment of comfortable silence where everyone was just lost in their own thoughts.

Then Rio said, “Mama, I don’t want to be an aminal (her special pronunciation of animal). Not even an octopus. Because it would be very uncomfortable.”

“Do you think there’s some danger of you turning into an octopus?” I asked.

“No,” she said, and we all lapsed into silence again.

