Do you still have a transitional object from your own childhood? What sort of role does it play in your life now?

My answer:
I have the pillow I’ve slept on every night since I was two years old. As that sentence implies, it plays the same role in my life now that it did then. I sleep on it, and it makes me happy. The pillowcase has disintegrated a couple of times, and I’ve replaced it with the others from that set of sheets. I am coming to grips with the fact that the one I am using now, which is already worn through in several places, is the last one of it’s ilk.

It’s perhaps an act of magic then that a pillowcase my mother hand-embroidered during my childhood, from a different bedding set, randomly surfaced in my kitchen linens drawer last night while Mom was visiting. Thanks Fairies!

