The prize of my May schedule is a fermentation workshop with Sandor Katz. It’s next Friday at 2:30 at BU. His book, Wild Fermentation, changed my life. You need to pre-register for this event. If the admission fee is a too high and you’re a homeschooling family, let me know. The workshop was organized by another homeschooler who may be able to arrange a fee reduction.

Some other May activities my kids and I will likely be at:

Somerville Open Studios – This weekend, all over town. My plans to host a Kid’s Art Show fell through, which is a bummer but also frees up the kids and I to prowl the neighborhood and check out other artists work. There will be some lovely and amazing photography on display right in our very own house.

Fun With Logical Puzzles at the Somerville Central Library. This is a series of math and puzzle sessions geared to 6-13 year olds. It’s happening May 7th, 14th, 21st, and 28th at 4 p.m.

And of course, being outdoors. We’ll probably be at the Growing Center playgroup on Friday mornings more often than not.

Most of my energy this month will be going into personal activities: a long-planned solo mama trip, my eldest’s 5th birthday, and the wedding of a dear friend. Hope to see you all out and about in the sunshine!

